My Current Project: Rainbow Core Selvedge

by thejourneyofdenim

As soon as I saw this pair, I had to get them. The Rainbow Core Selvedge in the Weird Guy fit from Naked and Famous, a Canadian brand known for being the most creative when it comes to specialty denim, was a pair that I had to see for myself. From a pair that glows in the dark to the heaviest denim in the world, the brand has certainly made a name for themselves in the denim community. I own several pairs myself and admire each one.

Me wearing the Rainbow Core denim. Here you can see the fit in size 29. Source: Austin Scarborough

My pair of Rainbow Core denim. Here you can see the Weird Guy fit in size 29. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

The selvedge lining of my Rainbow Core denim. Note the difference between this and the selvedge lining on the Bluer pair in my previous post. Source: Austin Scarborough

The selvedge lining of my Rainbow Core denim. Note the difference between this and the selvedge lining on the Bluer pair in my previous post. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

The Weird Guy fit is the brand’s slim-tapered fit. The next step after creating the Red Core denim  where the denim fades to a red color over time, the Rainbow Core fades into just that, a rainbow. Using the five colors of a rainbow, the denim is vat-dyed and then it is rope-dyed the color of indigo. With this process, the denim over time will fade into the colors of the rainbow. Below is a picture showing how the fading will look. The depth of the fade will depend on the amount and intensity of how you wear them.

Source: (Rawr Denim)

The denim pictured displays the fabric used in construction depicting the colors used to create the rainbow fade. Source: (www.rawrdenim.com)

I purchased my pair in July and have worn them quite a bit. Unfortunately, I work two jobs where a uniform is required so I am unable to wear them at either location. To compensate, I have slept in them a couple of times which is a controversial move among the denim community, due to the potential of creating irregular fades. I have also been rotating them between two other pairs I am working on, further reducing the amount of time I am in my Rainbow Core pair. I have noticed some fading on the back right pocket however, and I love the way it looks. Once they are more developed, the fading will be a lot more noticeable.

Some of the fading on the back right pocket on my pair. Note the difference in color in comparison to the indigo. Source: Austin Scarborough

Some of the fading on the back right pocket on my pair. Note the difference in color in comparison to the indigo. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

The denim is also sanforized and weighs in at 14 oz. which makes for a great weight. It is composed of 100% Japanese cotton and made in Canada. I found myself enjoying to wear them purely for the look themselves, regardless of the eventual rainbow fades. Leave it to Naked and Famous to create another unique pair of denim. What’s next, a pair that makes your legs invisible? Knowing these guys, that could be right around the corner…

