The Heaviest Denim In The World

by thejourneyofdenim

Naked & Famous is known for developing many creative pairs of denim. I have mentioned their brand in several posts throughout my blog. Amongst all of their crazy ideas, Naked & Famous’ greatest achievement (in my opinion) is constructing the heaviest denim in the world weighing in at 32 oz.

My pair of 32 oz. denim. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

My pair of 32 oz. denim. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

This pair in particular is only available in the Weird Guy fit. Normally I would prefer the Skinny Guy fit, but once I tried this pair on for the first time, I saw how impossible it would be to put them on if the leg was any skinnier. It took me a total of 15 minutes, a butter knife, elbow grease and sweat to get them on for the first time. Call me crazy, but once I got them fastened, I felt extremely accomplished! After a couple of days, the denim now feels like any other pair, making my other pairs feel that much lighter.

The selvedge of the denim. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

The selvedge of the denim. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

I had a chance to ask Brandon Svarc, founder and current CEO of N&F, a couple of questions about the denim. According to Svarc, “It took us 2 years to develop the fabric and figure out how to sew the jeans together.” He also informed me that only 3 pairs were able to be made per day due to the sheer difficulty involved in the manufacturing process.

The pair of denim standing up on their own. I apologize for the poor quality of this photo. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

The pair of denim standing up on their own. I apologize for the poor quality of this photo. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

With an intense shade of indigo, even after the pre-soak, the denim has a different look than any other pair in my wardrobe. Partnered with a slight taper from the knee down, the Weird Guy fit was the perfect choice for this pair.

Me wearing the denim. This is the Weird Guy fit and I love it. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

Me wearing the denim. This is the Weird Guy fit and I love it. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

Here in Texas, it doesn’t stay cold for long, but on the days it was, the heavy weight came in handy. I purchased my pair towards the end of the summer, so there were several occasions where I wore them in triple digit weather. They were hot, but not unbearable. It’s definitely manageable and most places don’t remain as hot as Texas, so the average user will be fine.

As of now, I’ve been wearing this pair often for a little over 3 months. Fades are beginning to appear in the seat area as well as the right back pocket where I put my wallet. Overall, a great pair of denim that I would recommend for hardcore denim fans. I can’t wait to see how they will look in another 3 months. Only time will tell…..

Notice the fades beginning to appear on the back pockets after 3 months. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

Notice the fades beginning to appear on the back pockets after 3 months. Source: (Austin Scarborough)

